Is this thing on?

Greetings!

Welcome to Red Stick Forward, a blog discussing topics of local interest concerning my hometown of Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Unlike most of the blogs originating from Baton Rouge, this one speaks from a liberal and progressive viewpoint.  Yes, we do exist!

As for me, I’m a 31-year-old melanin-challenged XY-chromosome bearing adult who recently returned to Baton Rouge after experiencing the outside world. Born and raised in Baton Rouge, I’m a proud product of the East Baton Rouge Parish School System. After graduating college in 1999, I enlisted in the military and bid a fond adieu to the South. I served in the US Army for six years, earning Airborne wings en route. An unexpected death in the family provided the impetus for my wife and me to relocate from Washington, DC to Baton Rouge, forever abandoning our continued service to national defense and diplomacy.

Now I find myself returned to the city of my birth. Baton Rouge has made significant strides in the decade that I have been absent. At the same time, it has regressed in many ways. I frequently find myself comparing the city to the other places I have lived. In some ways it surpasses; in too many others it falls short. Only time will tell if Baton Rouge is ready to move forward and become more than a community known for its devotion and accomplishment in the art of the tailgate.

Stay Tuned…

-Politivore

Comments Off on Is this thing on?

Filed under Random Musing

Comments are closed.